Lay Committees

Helping * Enabling * Leading the Mission

20/20 Vision

  • A transformed community and church.
  • A Holy Spirit community of Christ followers, connecting through vibrant worship, growing in small groups, serving others like Jesus.
  • Excellent Children and Youth Ministries.
  • The Lead Followers will be the H.E.L.M., twelve lay leaders with the Lead Pastor,
    who are responsible for spiritual and administrative direction.

Leader Selection Process

  • Ask God what God wants you to do for the Kingdom in the next three years.
  • Submit S.H.A.P.E.  and H.E.L.M. Covenant to pastor and nominating team.
  • Pray for discernment for the Nominations Team & the Lead Pastor.                                
H.E.L.M. Members 2020

Floore, Gene (Chair of HELM)
Ferguson, Janice (Lay Leader)
Newton, Allen (Lead Pastor)
Barone Steve (Lay Delegate to Annual Conference)
Borst, Rick
Campbell, Ella Kathryn (Youth Rep)
Carter, Jason
Craft, Steve
Dowdy, Annette (UMW Rep)
Langston, Amy (Chair of Finance)
Liufau, Jim (Chair of Trustees)
Fanto, Jeff (Secretary)
Morrow, Dave
Northern, Erik
Parker, Scott
Powell, Rick
Lee, Connie (Chair of SPR)

Staff Parish Relations 2020

Borst, Stella
Cole, Cindy
Cooper, Glenn
Ferguson, Janice
Lee, Connie (Chair)
Lyerly, Karen
Stephans, Bob
Thomas, Sara
Wasson, Chip

Finance Committee 2020

Banks, Steve
Bowyer, Kevin
Carter, Tommy
Cox, Roger (Treasurer)
Langston, Amy (Chair)
Reyba, Cindra
Sheffield, Blaine Trustees Committee 2020

Trustees Committee 2020

Arrant, Ken
David Jr., Don
Gentry III, Buddy
Liufau, Jim (Chair)
McCollum, Bert
Sellers, Kim
Shores, Timm
Windes, Mary Anne

Nominating Committee 2020

Banks, Donna
Dokken, Dave
Gatlin, Veritha
Lee, Connie
Luttrell, Susan
Miller, Jerry
Thatcher, Rod
Thomas, Sara

If you have any questions, please email



© 2020 Destin United Methodist Church   |   200 Beach Drive, Destin, FL US 32541